Skip to main content

Professor Roger Reddel AO BSc (Med) MBBS PhD FRACP FAHMS FAA

Sir Lorimer Dods Professor and Director

Roger Reddel has been the Executive Director of CMRI and the Sir Lorimer Dods Professor of The University of Sydney since 2007.

He obtained his medical degrees from the University of Sydney, trained in medical oncology at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, and is a registered medical practitioner and Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians. Roger completed a PhD in cancer cell biology at the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research in the University of Sydney's Department of Cancer Medicine and received an NHMRC CJ Martin Fellowship and a Fulbright Fellowship to undertake postdoctoral research at the National Cancer Institute, Bethesda, Maryland, USA. He returned to Sydney to establish the Cancer Research Unit at CMRI, with the support of Cancer Council NSW's Bicentennial Fellowship. He has received major support from Cancer Council NSW, including being awarded the Carcinogenesis Fellowship for ten years, and Program Grants for ten years. His research team is also supported by the Cancer Institute NSW, Australian Cancer Research Foundation, Medical Research Future Fund, Judith Hyam Memorial Trust Fund for Cancer Research, National Breast Cancer Foundation and the National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia.

Professor Reddel was elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science and as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences. In 2021, he was made an Officer of the Order of Australia. He has also been awarded the Ramaciotti Medal for Excellence in Biomedical Research, the NSW Premier's Award for Outstanding Cancer Researcher of the Year, and the Neil Hamilton Fairley Medal of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians.

Professor Reddel is a member of the CMRI Board of Directors and attends the meetings of all CMRI Board Committees.

Roger Reddel

Professor Roger Reddel AO, BSc (Med) MBBS PhD FRACP FAAHMS FAA, Director of CMRI and Head, Cancer Research Unit, Co-Director ProCan